Sunny Days, Sunny Ways

Now that the sun has come out after a long, cold winter, I find myself more willing to eat healthier. The dark and cold days on top of work and school pushed me into a rut of eating comfort food to try and make myself feel somewhat better.

But eating comfort food only lasts so long before you start feeling like crap and realizing you don’t have any money left in your bank account.

Before I started college, I went to the gym four times a week and trained to run in marathons. Now, I can barely find time to walk my dog, Molly. So as soon as I saw the sun come out Monday morning, I woke Molly up (she likes sleeping in) and we went on a long run through the park before. It felt so good to get back running again.

When we got home, I wanted something quick and healthy to eat before class, so I made some guacamole, then spread it on an opened faced sandwich with eggs and tomatoes. So tasty and very easy to make.

Guacamole

3 avocados

1/4 red onion

2 tomatoes

1/2 lemon

2 cloves garlic

Salt and pepper to taste

To make this recipe, you’ll need tomatoes, avocados, red onion, lemon, garlic, salt and pepper.

Begin by peeling and mashing the avocados in a medium serving bowl.

Make sure your avocados are ripe enough that you can easily spoon them out of their shell.

Using a potato masher helps get the avocados to the right consistency.

Stir in onion, garlic, tomato, lemon juice, salt and pepper.

I only used half the amount of the chopped onions in this photo.

This sandwich is as easy as it looks to make. Just spread some guacamole on toast, put some tomatoes on top and sprinkle with salt and pepper. On top, put a fried egg and some dried basil. This sandwich can work well as a breakfast, lunch or evening snack.

 

2 thoughts on “Sunny Days, Sunny Ways

Leave a comment