Busy Bodies

It seems like the older I get, the less time my family and I have to spend together. Between work, school and other commitments, we never seem to all be home at the same time. Tonight we made a plan to have a family pizza and movie night and then enjoy our last skate of the season at The Forks.

I came home after school to find all the pizza ingredients in the fridge ready for me to make. We always get our ingredients from De Lucas because they are fresh and full of flavour.

We usually have one pizza for the boys and one for the ladies. My stepdad isn’t one to accept change, so for his pizza, the toppings tend to stay the same. His pizza is always topped with tomato sauce, capicola, pepperoni and mushrooms. My mom and I on the other hand like to change it up every time we make pizza. Tonight I decided to put Alfredo sauce, mushrooms, chicken sausage, red onions, sundried tomatoes and green olives.

Here are the ingredients from De Lucas: pizza dough, feta, parmesan, pepperoni, capicola, green olives, mushrooms, Alfredo Sauce, tomato sauce, sundried tomatoes and chicken sausage.

I start by greasing the pan with canola oil and sprinkling corn meal on top. This helps the pizza dough not stick to the pan. I roll out the dough on a floured surface and then put my selected toppings.

I cooked the pizzas in an oven preheated to 425F for 25 minutes and they turned out very well. Now we are watching The Big Short and there is only half a pizza left.

Right before putting in the oven

Pizzas straight out of the oven

While it may be easier to order pizza after a long, tiring week, you’ll never go wrong with making it from scratch. There aren’t a lot of ways to screw up pizza and it tastes a lot better when you have total control of your toppings. If you’re feeling up to it, try taking an hour or so one night to make some homemade pizzas. If you just don’t have the energy to make them on a Friday night, you can make them earlier in the week and keep them in the fridge until the weekend.

 

Leave a comment