Quick Comfort Food Lunch

Today I’m sharing the go-to lunch I make when I have a little extra time on my hands. And although it may just seem simple because it’s tomato soup, I don’t just throw a can on the stove and hope for the best. To be honest I can’t stand the taste of canned soup and would much rather use the fresh ingredients from my garden.

I never really enjoyed tomato soup until I tried this recipe, which was passed down to my mom from her aunt. She used to make it for my mom as a kid when she had her over for lunch, and now my mom and I make it together on our days off. We tend to make this recipe more often in the summertime because we can use the tomatoes from the garden, but with the cold weather this past week, we couldn’t resist.

The other recipe I made to go along with the soup is cheese scones. These scones are so tasty, I don’t even know where to begin. And a good thing about this recipe is that you can adjust the recipe to make a sweet scone, by replacing the cheese with the fruit of your choice (or chocolate chips) and the sour cream with the yogurt of you choice.

Tomato Basil Soup

2 tbsp butter

3 tbsp flour

1/2 cup boiling water

1/2 cup milk

4 tomatoes

1 small onion

1 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp salt

Basil to taste

In a blender add the butter and flour and blend until completely combined. Next, add the water, milk, cut tomato and cut onion and blend. Follow by pouring in a pot and adding the remaining ingredients. Cook over medium high for 15-20 mins.

Note: To make the soup even tastier, use tomatoes and basil from the garden.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Cheese scone with tomato basil soup

Cheese Scones

2 1/2 cups flour

1/2 cup sugar

1 tsp salt

1 tsp cream of tartar

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup tender flake

1 egg

1 cup sour cream

Around a cup of cheese of your choice

Begin by mixing your flour, sugar, salt, cream or tartar and baking soda together. Cut in tender flake until crumbly. In a separate bowl mix egg and sour cream together. Add to dry ingredients. Bake for 20 minutes in an oven preheated to 375F.

Note: To make the scones sweet, replace the cheese with the fruit of your choice (or chocolate chips) and the sour cream with the yogurt of your choice.

Pure happiness. Melts away in your mouth.

One thought on “Quick Comfort Food Lunch

  1. Madelaine…that tomato soup and scones look sooo delicious it makes my mouth water….mmmm…I will try it for sure this summer with fresh tomatoes.

    I am looking forward to your future blogs.

    Great job on the photography too- looks really appealing! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

